Cricket - Australia one day international vs Pakistan got off to a rocky start today at the Gabba with telling early innings wicket losses that left Australia at 136 – 6 after the 35th over, with Chris Lynn being caught behind by wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan, and David Warner missing a swinging delivery, delivered by Mohammad Amir that found his off stump.

Mathew Wade hit a textbook 100 off 100 balls to steady the Australian ship, with an important partnership coming from Maxwell (54 ) who was dismissed by a catch after putting the ball up for Mohammad Hafeez towards mid wicket, after trying to lob it over leg side, leaving Australia at 153 – 5 in the 31st over.

The boys in yellow recovered finally to post a respectable ODI score of 268 – 9, leaving the Pakistani batsman a hard chase if they want to see victory, considering Australia has a blistering bowling Attack.

Pakistan: swing does the job for the bowlers, now they need to perform with the willow

Mohammad Amir started the Pakistani attack by claiming the scalp of David Warner with a fine example of swing bowling, beating the Australian batsman to run through to the stumps.

The rest of the bowling attack was disciplined and tight with Wasim, Hafeez and Nawaz making life difficult for the Australian lineup, and Hasan sniping off the important wickets.

But Pakistan seems to have let the game run away a bit; any team chasing a 220 run ODI total against Australia are going to have a hard time.

At the time of writing this, Pakistan are sitting at a respectable 5 runs an over, so they might just be able to pull something out of the hat at the Gabba today, on what can be described as a difficult wicket.

Bookies say Australia for the win

Book makers have pegged Australia at 4/7 to win this one, but those who gamble might go with the 11/5 for Pakistan.

The Teams; Australia

  • Warner
  • Head
  • Smith
  • Lynn
  • Marsh
  • Maxwell
  • Wade
  • Faulkner
  • Cummins
  • Starc
  • Stanlake

The team : Pakistan

  • Azhar Ali
  • Sharjeel Khan
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Babar Azam
  • Umar Akmal
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Imad Wasim
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Amir
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Hasan Ali