The Premier League has announced that it is to launch its official Hall Of Fame, recognising the exceptional skill and talent of former stars that have graced the competition over the years since its inception back in 1992. The announcement will no doubt leave Football fans up and down the country pondering over who they would include on their list, which for now will be limited to just two players being initially included next month.

There will be certain limitations as to which players can be considered though, as candidates must have already retired from the beautiful game and they will be judged solely on their Premier League career.

The likes of England’s top international goalscorer, Wayne Rooney will have to wait a little longer then before his opportunity for recognition, given that he has extended his own career with Derby County in the Championship.

Shearer and Giggs in the running

Among the favourites to become the inaugural Hall of Famers will be Newcastle United’s legendary former striker alan shearer, who currently tops the goalscoring charts for the Premier League with an incredible tally of 260 goals. Shearer’s prolific achievements were mainly compiled during his time with his beloved Magpies, but he also starred at Blackburn Rovers in the Premier League’s early years.

Many Manchester United followers will vehemently suggest that Ryan Giggs is equally deserving of a place on the Hall of Fame, the Welsh wizard and current national team manager having played his entire career at the formidable Red Devils, amassing a staggering 162 assists in that time.

The trickery and flair he brought to light up the competition adds to the raw stats, although his longevity is also to be applauded and 13 Premier League winning medals says much about his consistency of performance.

Other contenders

Outside of Shearer and Giggs, there are of course plenty of equally deserving candidates who merit consideration.

Goalkeepers such as Peter Schmeichel and Petr Cech (most Premier League clean sheets) provided a solid backbone from which their teammates could express themselves further upfield. Defenders such as John Terry at Chelsea and Tony Adams at Arsenal exemplified the desire and work ethic that inspired their sides to glory.

Midfield dynamos

Midfielders are the heartbeat of a football team, assisting in defensive duties but also commonly being expected to cover the length of the pitch, create chances and score goals themselves against the opposition. Players such as current Chelsea boss Frank Lampard and Liverpool hero – now manager at Rangers – Steven Gerrard warrant a mention in that respect.

Top goalscorers

Yet any successful team depends on the goalscorer’s prowess and instinct, that’s what made Shearer such a firm favourite at Newcastle. But there have been many more talents leading from the front since the Premier League began. Who can forget the likes of Andy Cole, Thierry Henry, Robbie Fowler and Ian Wright, to name but a few?

No place for current stars

Current Premier League stars such as Man City’s pairing of Kevin De Bruyne and Sergio Aguero, Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and Jamie Vardy at Leicester City will have to wait their turn, as they continue their quest for further honours. But they will no doubt have their own thoughts on which former players merit consideration for the prestigious new concept.

No doubt there will be heated discussions between ardent football fans before the first two names are announced on 19th March, with each inductee receiving a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction.