It was a beautiful English summer evening, and England beat Australia once again, but this time in the T20I match. England won the one-off T20I by 28 runs, and Australia goes home without a single victory on this tour. The match was played at the Edgbaston cricket ground in Birmingham on Wednesday, June 27, 2018.

Earlier in the day, Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to field first. England started their innings in the best way possible, as openers Jos Buttler (61 runs off 30 balls) and Jason Roy (44 runs off 26 balls) notched up a partnership of 95 runs in just nine overs.

The BBC reported that Jos Buttler smashed the fastest half-century in England's T20I history to help England withstand a brilliant inning from Aaron Finch.

England lost three wickets in the next few overs but runs kept on flowing. Joe Root (35 runs off 24 balls) and Alex Hales (49 runs off 24 balls) took England's score over 200 runs, and then some lusty blows in the end overs made sure England made a massive score of 221 for five at the end of their 20 overs, according to The Guardian.

Mitchell Swepson shines with the ball on debut

For Australia, debutant Mitchell Swepson got two wickets, while Billy Stanlake and Marcus Stoinis got one wicket each.

Despite getting wickets, even they were very expensive and were hit all over the park.

Australia didn't start their chase as required, as they lost the wickets of D'Arcy Short and Glenn Maxwell during the powerplay. Right after the powerplay, Australia fell into more trouble as three quick wickets meant their score stood at 72 for five after 8.4 overs.

Aaron Finch's effort goes in vain

Australian Captain Aaron Finch (84 runs off 41 balls) kept losing partners but didn't give up.

Ashton Agar (29 runs from 23 balls) stayed on the pitch with his captain, but there wasn't any notable contribution from any other Aussie batsmen. They finally crawled their way through, and were all out for 193 runs in the last over of their innings, handing England a 28 run victory.

For England, Adil Rashid and Chris Jordan picked up three wickets each, while Liam Plunkett got two wickets. David Willey and Moeen Ali also took a wicket each. Adil Rashid got the man of the match award for his bowling figures of 3-27 in four overs.

It was a combined effort by the Englishmen as they left Australia winless during this tour. England will next host India in a T20I series next month while Australia will travel to Zimbabwe to play a T20I tri-series with the hosts and Pakistan.