India thrashed Ireland by 76 runs in the first of the two T20I matches, at the Malahide Stadium in Dublin on June 27, 2018. The Indians dominated the game completely, as Ireland seemed to lack experience.

The BBC reported that 8,000 odd spectators, including a sizable contingent of Indian fans, were treated to a display of top-class batting from openers Dhawan and Rohit Sharma.

Earlier in the day, Irish skipper Gary Wilson won the toss and elected to bowl first. Indian openers Shikhar Dhawan (74 runs off 45 balls) and Rohit Sharma (97 runs off 61 balls), combined for an excellent partnership of 160 runs from 16 overs.

They started the innings rapidly and kept the momentum through the innings.

Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, and Hardik Pandya played cameos after the dismissal of the openers. Some lovely strokes in the last few overs meant India scored 208 for five after the end of their 20 overs. For Ireland, Peter Chase picked up four for 35 in his four overs, while Kevin O'Brien picked up one wicket, according to an ESPNCricinfo report.

Ireland fails to chase a 200 plus score

Ireland's inexperience against classy Indian bowling showed as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. None of the Irish batsmen, except opener Jason Shannon (60 runs off 35 balls), looked settled on the pitch. Soon, Ireland had nothing but to look forward to playing out all the 20 overs, as India had pushed them to 96 for six in 13 overs.

They finally ended their innings at a meager score of 132 for nine wickets in their 20 overs. For India, the wrist spinners did the trick. Kuldeep Yadav picked up four wickets, while Yuzvendra Chahal picked up three wickets. Jasprit Bumrah too chipped in with two wickets.

Kuldeep Yadav received the man of the match award for his bowling figures of 4 for 21 on four overs.

Final scorecard

India 208 for five wickets (Rohit 97, Dhawan 74, Chase 4-35) beat Ireland 132 for nine wickets (Shannon 61, Kuldeep 4-21, Chahal 3-38) by 76 runs.

It was Yadav's first four-wicket haul in T20 internationals, and he was ably backed up by fellow spinner Yuzvendra Chahal who also bagged three wickets with his wrist spin.

Both the teams will face each other once again at the same venue on June 29, 2018. India is leading the two-match series by 1-0. Ireland would be looking forward to bouncing back in the next game.

For viewers in India, DD Sports and Sony Six covered the game live while Sky Sports Cricket broadcast the game for viewers in the UK. Willow.Tv had the rights for the live telecast for fans in the United States.