England Women have been drawn to face scotland in the group stages of Euro 2017 which will take place in the Netherlands next summer.

The two British sides will meet each other in the opening game of Group D on Wednesday 19 July.

England v Scotland

England and Scotland will meet in Utrecht, with the last time that the two sides played each other was at the Cyprus Cup back in 2013, which ended in a thrilling 4-4 draw.

Scotland go into the tournament as one of five debutant teams along with Belgium, Portugal, Austria and Switzerland.

As sixteen teams will take part in Euro 2017, which is an increase of four teams from 12 sides at Euro 2013, a move UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin said would add "an extra dimension".

Group D

They are joined in Group D by Spain, who England beat 2-1 in a friendly in October, along with Portugal who are the lowest-ranked side at the tournament.

The last European Championships was a disappointing campaign for England as they failed to make it past the group stages, however a lot has changed since 2013.

Mark Sampson took charge of the side in 2014 and led the Lionesses to their highest ever finish at a World Cup, when they clinched the bronze medal in Canada last year. Plus they clinched top spot in their qualification group unbeaten.

Heading into the tournament England are certainly one of the favourites to reach the latter stages of the tournament, like they did back in 2009 when they reached the final, only to be beaten by Germany.

Germany are the top seeds for next years tournament, they have won this tournament six times in a row and last lost at a European Championship back 1993 - they will face Sweden, Russia and Italy in their group.

Players Reaction

England veteran Alex Scott was delighted at how the draw turned out.

England skipper Steph Houghton tweeted her delight at the draw.

Full Euro 2017 Draw:

Group A: Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Norway

Group B: Germany, Sweden, Russia, Italy,

Group C: France, Iceland, Austria, Switzerland

Group D: England, Scotland, Spain, Portugal

The tournament begins on 16 July, with the final taking place on 6 August.