The 2016 edition of Ironman Malaysia, Langkawi took place on November 12 on Langkawi Island. Ironman Malaysia has operated the race since its return to the island destination in 2014.

This year’s race saw 1,100 participants representing over 63 countries. International athletes made up 74% of the total, and Japan, the Philippines, Australia and Malaysia had the highest athlete counts of the countries represented. Participants were 87% male and 13% female. Forty-eight professional athletes from 25 countries participated in the race, competing for personal best times and USD 40,000 in total prize money.

“On behalf of the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia, I would like to congratulate the victorious champions as well all the participants of Ironman Malaysia, Langkawi for their sheer perseverance and extraordinary spirit to cross the finish line. You are living proof that anything is possible. I would also like to compliment the organizer, World Endurance Malaysia, and partners for the success of this event – bringing together athletes, fitness enthusiasts, as well as their family and friends along with supporters for a truly outstanding event,” said Datuk Zulkefli Haji Sharif, Chief Executive Officer of MyCEB.

Fredrik Croneborg of Sweden grabbed his breakthrough Ironman victory

Fredrik Croneborg of Sweden grabbed his breakthrough Ironman victory, overcoming strong competition and limited training due to a recent injury and the birth of his first child.

He previously placed second in the 2014 and 2015 editions of the race. He withstood a storming run from Brazilian Thiago Vinhal to claim his first Ironman win in 8:39:11. The fastest run came from Japan’s Kaito Tohara who zoomed home to pick up third.

Top athletes across all categories accepted Ironman World Championship slots in a roll down ceremony on November 13.

The 2017 World Championship will take place on October 14, 2017, on The Big Island of Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. Yoshihito Munemasa, 70, accepted one of the 40 allocated slots to the championship, which is by qualification only. He raced in the 70-74 category and finished strong with a time of 13:53:09. He has raced in Kona six times.

He achieved his first qualification via Ironman Malaysia, Langkawi fifteen years prior.

Top finishers in all age categories received trophies at the beachside Awards Night Dinner at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi later that night. Firefighter Amran Abdul Ghani reclaimed his 2014 title of Best Malaysian Male with 10:09:04. Mei See Chin was once again the Best Malaysian Female with a time of 12:02:27, improving on her 2015 finishing time of 12:53:28.

Ironman - tremendous support by triathlon community

On the 2016 edition of the race, Geoff Meyer, Managing Director of Ironman Asia, said, “We congratulate Fredrik Croneborg, Diana Riesler and all athletes who took part in this year’s race.

They are truly the essence of Ironman - their strength, determination, and perseverance are inspiring to watch, and it was a great race. Ironman has received tremendous support by the triathlon community and our sponsors and partners over the years. The people of Langkawi have truly made the event their own and it ranks as one of the best on a global scale.”

200 kids aged 5 - 13 taking part

The Ironkids race on November 11 saw 200 kids aged 5 - 13 taking part in a 500m or 1km dash along Cenang Beach, sharing the Ironman finisher’s arch. Ironman Malaysia introduced the Ironkids race in 2015 to promote a healthy and active lifestyle to children. The race also allows children of Ironman participants to experience the finish line at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa.

The race expo took place from November 9 - 13 and featured booths by sports and lifestyle exhibitors and the Ironman official merchandise. Yee Sze Mun’s book was also on sale during the expo.