After the completion of the draw for the group stages, England’s men can look forward to pitting their wits against reigning champions Sri Lanka at the 2016 World Twenty20 tournament. Skipper Eoin Morgan and his side will also need to develop a winning strategy against South Africa, West Indies and a yet to be confirmed qualifier.

The two groups in the second stage of the competition will feature:

Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England, Group B winner.

Group 2 – India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, Group A winner.

The second group stage begins in India on 15th March next year.

It will be the sixth time that the T20 world event has been held, with matches scheduled to run until 3rd April 2016.

Morgan’s men hoping to build confidence

England will be keen to put recent disappointing performances behind them in the major limited overs competitions. Encouragingly, their form has looked much improved in recent months, as the old conservative approach has been replaced by a far more dynamic team ethic.

The positivity generated by their series victory over the ever-dangerous Pakistan in the UAE should have boosted their confidence, with a tour to South Africa beginning later this month.

Ireland and Scotland kept apart

Prior to the so-called ‘big guns’ entering the event, two groups of four teams will battle it out in the first group stage that opens the tournament.

A round-robin format beginning on 8th March will determine the two additional qualifiers from Groups A and B. Among those hopeful of a berth in the second stage will be the likes of Ireland and Scotland.

Ireland will face Bangladesh, Netherlands and Oman in Group A in the first round. Scotland have been paired with Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Hong Kong in Group B.

Having been kept apart, it opens up the intriguing possibility for both nations to qualify for the later stages.

Women’s T20 competition

The draw for the fifth women’s competition that will take place alongside the men’s event has also gone ahead. Again two groups of five teams will contest for the title, with England set to face the hosts India in Group B.

Ireland feature in the same group as the holders, Australia, who defeated England in the 2014 final.

The two women’s groups will be comprised of:

Group A – Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Ireland.

Group B – India, England, Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh.