Eden Hazard has been confirmed as the Football Writers' Association player of the year. It completes a wonderful twelve months for the Chelsea player. Not only did he personally pick up the PFA award last month, but his contribution to the team ensured a Premier League and League Cup double this season. At just 24-years-old, the Belgian international seems destined to enhance his profile on the global stage in the coming years.

Hazard polled over half the votes

Hazard attracted a substantial 53% of the votes for the award, voted on by over 300 journalists involved in writing about the game of football.

The poll established Tottenham's Harry Kane as the runner-up after his breakthrough season both domestically and internationally. Third place went to Hazard's influential Chelsea captain, John Terry, who had been somewhat controversially omitted from the PFA shortlist. His inclusion in the top three places was just reward for the manner in which he has marshalled the Blues' rear guard this season.

Chelsea's Player of the Year last year

Chelsea voted Hazard as their own Player of the Year in 2014 and he seems to have built on that accolade this campaign, impressing fellow players and critics alike with his performances for Jose Mourinho's men. With 20 goals scored already in all competitions by the skilful Belgian, he is beginning to reward the faith demonstrated in him when Chelsea signed him from Lille in 2012.

Matched Luis Suarez's feat in 2014

By winning both of the top football awards handed out in English football, he has emulated the feat of Liverpool's erstwhile striker Luis Suarez last season. Unlike Suarez, he doesn't seem destined to depart his current London 'home' in the near future, as the Blues plot their way to further success in the years to come.

Which is the greater accolade?

The PFA award is voted for by the players' peers in the game, so in many respects is probably held in the greatest esteem by the players. To receive an accolade based on a vote from fellow professionals that you face week in and week out in the league, must surely rank as the greatest compliment a player can receive in the game.

However, that is not to demean the Football Writers' award. The award dates back to the 1947-48 season, when the inaugural winner was no less than the great Blackpool and England winger (Sir) Stanley Matthews. In that respect it pre-dates the PFA award that was created in the season of 1973-74.

Future success to come?

Hazard may have time on his side in what may yet become another Mourinho dynasty at Chelsea, but he has some way to go to match former Arsenal striker Thierry Henry. The Frenchman won the Football Writer's award on no less than three occasions.