Top seed at the Brisbane International, Roger Federer, 33, secured his historic career milestone, the 1,000th Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) win, by beating Canadian Milos Raonic in the final.

The Swiss from Basel, who is regarded by most commentators and players as the greatest tennis player of all time, beat the 24 year-old Raonic 6-4, 6-7, (2-7), 6-4 in the Pat Rafter Arena to earn the 83rd ATP title of his career.  

With this historic 1,000th ATP match win, the leading Swiss tennis legend now joins an exclusive club and becomes only the third man to achieve this special feat, after American Jimmy Connors who had 1,253 wins and Czech Ivan Lendl with 1,071 wins.

The Swiss, who is currently ranked world No. 2 by the ATP, has been in fine form of late, and on his way to the Brisbane final, he dismissed many of his opponents in less than 60 minutes.

Raonic, who also made the Brisbane final, is currently ranked world No. 8, and is regarded as a player with one of the strongest serves on the tour; he is Canada’s highest ATP ranked male singles' player who helped Canada reach a historic semi-final in 2013. He, too, was in good form recently.

Federer won the first set 6-4, and was after Raonic’s powerful serve, which he managed to break early in the third game.

He then also broke Raonic in the opening game of the second set, only for the Canadian to fight back and level the set at 2-2.  The 24 year-old won the second set tie-break by winning seven consecutive points.  

After 2 hours and 13 minutes Federer won the final set 6-4, and the historic 1,000th career win.

The Brisbane International tournament is regarded as a warm-up for the Australian Open, which begins in Melbourne next Monday, on 19th January.  This will be the next stop for the 2015 Brisbane International winner, his team, family and numerous fans. Federer has won the Australian Grand Slam four times; the first win in Melbourne came in 2004 when he won over Marat Safin and became the world No.1 for the first time. His last win of the Australian Open was in 2010 when he defeated Andy Murray in the final.

Don't miss our page on Facebook!
Click to read more