Chennai Super Kings' suspension and their return

Under Dhoni’s captaincy, CSK won their second consecutive IPL title in 2011, the only team to do so in the IPL so far. They missed winning the third consecutive title in 2012 by a whisker. A ban followed it for two years in 2015. Down but not beaten they rebounded back and won their third title in 2018.